1 Year of Blogging: 7 Things I’ve Learned

publication3

Happy Blogiversary to me! It’s crazy to think that I’ve been writing on this blog for an entire year now. I’ll be honest, whenever I published my first post last year I wasn’t sure if I’d stick with it or if I’d write a couple blog posts then get bored. I was so nervous pressing “publish” for the first time- Will anyone read this? Will I look like a crazy person? Does anyone even care about what I have to say?

I still worry about these things each time I sit down to write a blog post, but I have so much fun doing it I just disregard any of the potential negative feedback. I have had a real passion for makeup, skincare, and fashion for so many years now, and it feels amazing finally having a creative outlet to share all of the things I love. And of course, there have been ups and downs with blogging over the last year, so I thought it was appropriate to share some of the things I have learned during my first year of blogging.

1. Trying to keep up with the trends is expensive

I cannot express this one enough. Like I mentioned earlier, I have always loved beauty and fashion and I already knew that it can be quite pricey. Once I started writing on this blog, and reading other beauty and fashion blogs, I constantly felt that I needed to go out and buy new clothes and makeup just so I had new and exciting content to write about. As great as it would be, I can’t afford to go buy a new outfit each week, but I have learned new ways to use the pieces that I already have in my closet.

2. My mom is a really great proofreader

I can’t even begin to imagine how many text messages or phone calls I have received from my mom letting me know that I misspelled something in one of my blog posts. When I first started blogging this would drive me crazy, but now I have learned to really appreciate it. Why didn’t I send her all of my papers back in college!?

3. A blogger’s best friends are a DSLR camera and Lightroom

 High quality and unique photos are what really make a blog post stand out. Of course you can nice photos on your iPhone, but a DSLR will become your best friend if you are trying to take beautiful, sharp photos. A DSLR paired with Adobe Lighroom is the perfect combo in creating your best photos for both your blog and Instagram.

4. Use Instagram and other social media to your advantage

Instagram is the social media destination for bloggers. Of course, your blog is where you want to publish your main content, but Instagram is a great tool to use when you want to engage with your readers on a more personal and consistent level. The beauty and fashion blogging community have a huge reach on Instagram, so it’s always key to promote yourself on there! To reach the most potential readers, you want to promote yourself across ALL of your social media platforms – I specifically use Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and Snapchat! When I first began blogging I always felt so uncomfortable doing self-promo for a blog I wasn’t sure anyone cared about. But, that’s how you grow your readership, so self-promo has got to be done!

5. Writer’s block is very real

As much as I love writing, I go through spells of writer’s block and lack inspiration. As you may have noticed, this summer I took a long break from writing, but eventually my creative juices started flowing again and I have been posting more consistently ever since. The best thing I have learned to combat this is to keep a running list of blog post ideas that I can pull from whenever I’m in a writing rut.

6. Personal posts bring readers

I love reading other bloggers’ “About Me” sections or any of their posts about their personal lives. Humans are naturally nosy, and I have noticed that I get a lot more views and clicks on posts that are more personal!

7. Not everyone is going to understand why you have a blog

Obviously, not everyone is going to care about makeup and clothes, or even care about what I have to say at all – and that’s totally okay! There are different blogs out there for everyone and I can promise that there is someone who is going to relate to you and appreciate what you have to write about. It’s important to stay true to yourself and your interests, because those posts are going to seem the most genuine. I don’t have any interest in gardening, or plants in general, so obviously, that’s not what I’m going to write about.

To say the least, I have learned quite a bit over the last year. I hope y’all have enjoyed my blog so far, and keep reading as time goes on! I can’t imagine how much I’m going to learn in year two!

signature

19 thoughts on “1 Year of Blogging: 7 Things I’ve Learned

  1. Totally agree with point one! I always feel I need to have the newest products as I worry that’s what people want to read about! I was super scared to post and share my blog as I was worried what people would think. Lovely post which I can thoroughly relate to! ☺️ x

    Liked by 2 people

  2. First of all, happy “birthday” πŸ™‚
    Secondly, as someone whose blog is not even a week old, I am so grateful for your post. I’m so nervous that people don’t like what I have to say or that I’m just gonna embarrass myself. I’m not really sure how to do this “self promoting” thing and everything is just so crazy. But your words are very encouraging so thanks for sharing! Lots of love, Ju xx

    Liked by 2 people

    • Aw thank you so so much! ❀️ congrats on starting your blog! I promise self promoting becomes easier as time goes on! The hardest part is publishing your first post and you’ve already got that part covered! Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

