Current Makeup Routine

title

As an oily skin girl, I am always trying to find the perfect products that will work best with my skin. My skin type really effects every aspect of my makeup routine – foundation, eyeshadows, primers, setting powders, etc. After plenty of trials and more than a fair share of errors, I think that I have came up with my perfect little makeup routine and thought it would be only fair to share my favorite products with y’all!

fortheface

First, I always have to start by prepping my skin for any products that I’m going to be adding to it. I really like this cleanser for giving me a nice, clean surface to work with. After washing my face, I always use my MAC Oil Control Lotion, which helps with moisturizing my skin and also combating any additional oil that could produce throughout the day. Then, I like to prime my face with Benefit’s The Porefessional Matte Rescue Mattifying Gel – I really prefer this formula to the original Porefessional Primer.

Foundation is where I always have the biggest issues finding something that is going to cooperating with my skin while also lasting all day without looking cakey. I had always heard great things about the Estee Lauder Double-Wear Foundation from other bloggers and YouTubers, so I thought it was finally time to give it a chance and I am so glad I did! I have NEVER had a foundation wear on me for such a long period of time. My face does not get shiny throughout the day, the coverage lasts, and my foundation looks like I just applied it even after an entire day of wear. I love it!

My go-to under eye concealer has been Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Concealer . I love “baking” my under eye area, as well as my t-zone and chin, which helps prevent any extra oils from appearing through the day. If you haven’t tried baking before, DO IT! My favorite powder to bake with is the Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Powder. For an all-over quick setting powder, I always reach for my It Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores Finish Powder. I also like to use the Boscia White Charcoal Setting Spray to seal everything in!

contourhighlight

Now that I’ve got my entire face covered, concealed, and baked, it’s time for my favorite part – contouring and highlight! I used to be super lazy with contouring, but once I realized what I huge difference it made, I won’t ever go back.

When I contour my cheekbones, jawline and nose, I gravitate towards my Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit and use the bottom, center bronzer. For an all-over bronzed look, I really like Benefit’s Hoola Bronzer.

Of course, after contouring and bronzing, you want to add a little color to your cheeks, so I usually grab my Bobbi Brown Blush in the color “Sand Pink”. To finish my face off, I like to highlight some of the high points of my face – cheek bones, center of my nose, and cupid’s bow specifically.  I used to be really afraid of highlighting because I didn’t want my face to look any shinier than it already was, but in combination with all of the other mattifying products, a highlighter is the perfect touch!

eyesbrows

Brows are the one part of my face that I will NOT skip when doing my makeup. Can you believe there was a point in life where NO ONE filled in their brows? It’s crazy (and embarrassing) to me when I look back at old photos of myself and see my all-natural brows. So, now that I have my life together, I have a simple, yet very effective brow routine. You only need two products – Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade (I wear the color “Medium Brown”) and the Anastasia Beverly Hills 20 Duo Brush. I try to keep my brows clean and plucked regularly, so all I need to do is line my natural brow, and fill in as needed. It’s such a simple process, yet makes the biggest difference of my entire makeup routine.

I always have to use a primer before applying any eyeshadow, and am currently loving the Urban Decay Primer Potion, which is a major cult favorite. I switch up eyeshadow palettes quite a bit, but my overall favorite is the Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Eye Palette. It has a ton of neutral matte shades, which are what I tend to reach for the most. Another Kat Von D product I love is her Tattoo Liner. If you have any issues applying eyeliner, I really advise giving this stuff a try. The felt tip applicator really makes drawing a smooth, dark line effortless!

And of course, you can’t do your eye makeup without a little mascara. I really like my lashes to look super dark, long, and dramatic, so I am kind of obsessed with the Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara.

lip

My lip products are changing pretty constantly but these have been my favorite recently! With the months getting a little colder, my lips tend to get chapped pretty easily. To combat that, I really enjoy using the Bite Beauty Agave Lip Mask. It is a little pricey, but a little bit goes a long way and it will transform your lips, especially during these colder, drier months.

Just like the rest of my makeup look, I really enjoy matte lip products. The two I’ve been gravitating towards recently have been Too Face Melted Liquid Lipstick in the shade “Chihuahua” and MAC Matte Lipstick in Velvet Teddy.

favorite-tools

I think some of my favorite tools are what really make the difference in the way this makeup applies.

My all-time favorite powder brush is the Elf Powder Brush – which is only $3.00 and you can find at pretty much any drugstore! Another affordable makeup brush brand is Real Techniques, which you can find at Ulta or Walmart. I really love the original Beauty Blender, which is around $20.00, but Real Techniques makes an amazing dupe for the Beauty Blender, which runs about $7.00. I don’t mind spending a little bit more on brushes, but every single time I buy a Beauty Blender my dog ends up getting a hold of it and chewing it into about a million pieces. I also really love this brush set from Real Techniques for contouring and highlighting, and again, it’s super affordable! If you realllly love contouring and are wanting to invest in a really nice, high quality brush, I highly recommend the NARS Ita Kabuki Brush. The style of brush gives a really sharp contour and blends beautifully – it’s AMAZING for contouring your nose!

Like I mentioned earlier, I really like my eyelashes to look long and dramatic, and one thing that I use every day to achieve that is an eyelash curler – I use this one by Shiseido! To make my eyeshadow look super clean and sharp, I like to use Scotch Tape! Watch any Casey Holmes makeup tutorial on YouTube and you will see what kind of magic this trick is! And of course, you need a good blending brush for your eyeshadow, and I really like the MAC 286 Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush.

I know this post was super long, but I really wanted to share all of these products with y’all – especially the girls who struggle with oily skin like me! These products have really made a huge difference for me, so I’m sure they can benefit someone else as well!

signature

4 thoughts on “Current Makeup Routine

  1. I have oily skin too – i use the estee lauder foundation too it’s great isn’t it….. I had no idea MAC had oil control lotion – i only went the other day asking for their best oily skin products and they never mentioned it X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

