Steps to Having a Good Morning

title

DSC_0097DSC_0057DSC_0085DSC_0068

I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve never been a stereotypical “morning person” – but that doesn’t mean that I haven’t always wanted to be. When I meet people who wake up extra early every morning and utilize their ENTIRE day  I have always been very envious! When I moved back in May and started my new job, I knew that I needed to get a morning routine down so I could be the most productive I possibly could. I had to start my adult life being ambitious, right? After a few months of a trial and error I think I have a found a solid three steps that help me immensely to start my mornings on a positive note.

1. Wake Up Extra Early

I cannot stress this step enough! Personally, I do not have to be at work until 9:00 AM, but the days that I feel the best and most awake are the ones that I wake up at 6:00 AM. Yes, that is a lot of time to get ready, and almost unnecessary, but it is one of the best things I can do to start my day. When you wake up early and give yourself an ample amount of time to prepare for your day, you’re less stressed and can start your morning with a relaxed, calm mindset. I know that it’s going to hurt setting your alarm for the early hours the night before, but it’s worth it – trust me!

2. Get Your Body Moving

There are so many different ways to get moving in the morning. It can be as light or intense as you’d like, either way it is beneficial. Doing a short workout, yoga, spin class, anything at all, is going to make you feel productive as early as possible, which if you’re anything like me, makes me feel awesome for the rest of the day. I love knowing that I already completed my workout in the mornings and it’s not hanging over my head the rest of the day. Plus, if you don’t want to leave your apartment in the morning like I do most days, you always have the option of YouTube workout or yoga videos!

3. Enjoy Your Favorite Drink

Obviously if your favorite drink is an alcoholic one, I don’t recommend starting your day out with that, but others are a good option. I really love coffee, personally, so starting my Keurig or walking down the street to Starbucks always makes my mornings just a bit brighter. Even if you’re not a coffee lover like me, you can always make your favorite smoothie, tea, or just a simple glass of lemon water. The options really are endless, so browse Pinterest and experiment!

I’m still kind of a newbie at this whole “morning routine” thing, but I think those steps really are what make my days run smoothly! Of course I do still have my occasional days of over sleeping and rushing out the door, but they are few and far between when I incorporate these steps in my daily life.

Do you have any morning rituals that you swear by?  

signature

2 thoughts on “Steps to Having a Good Morning

Leave a Reply

