New Beauty Buys

title

DSC_4367DSC_4363DSC_4357DSC_4369
SHOPTHISLOOK

Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer | Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Complete Coverage Concealer | Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder | Benefit Cosmetics The Porefessional: Matte Rescue | Boscia White Charcoal Mattifying Makeup Setting Spray | Urban Decay Afterglow 8-Hour Powder Highlighter

With summer right around the corner, I knew that it was time to start the hunt to find makeup that could hold up against the heat and humidity. Like I have shared before, I have naturally oily skin, so finding products that work for my skin can be a bit difficult. After reading numerous blogs and watching about a million of Casey Holmes’ YouTube videos (she is seriously my favorite!), I headed to Sephora with a few items in mind.

After seeing Casey rave about the Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer and how it worked great for her oily skin I knew that I had to give it a shot. Let me just say, I have been using this stuff for around a week now and I have honestly never been more impressed with a foundation. When it says full coverage, it means it — I don’t even need use a concealer to cover up any of my dark spots! It also stays in place all day without settling into my pores or getting oily at all. If you want a foundation that lasts while also keeping you matte all day run to Sephora now and try this!

I had recently ran out of my NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer and I knew it was time to find something new. I have always had a problem with concealers settling into the fine lines around my eyes and pretty much vanishing throughout my day. For the past couple of months I have heard nothing but people say great things about Urban Decay’s Naked Skin concealer, so of course I had to see what all the fuss was about, and I totally get it now! In combination with the Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder, this concealer brightens my eyes, looks smooth all day, and doesn’t budge — what else could you want in a concealer?

Of course, you can’t go without a good primer and setting spray. Again, with the weather getting warmer and the air becoming more humid I knew that staying matte was going to be an issue if I continued using the same primer I had purchased previously. I had used the original Benefit Porefessional primer before and wasn’t really all that thrilled with the results. It did diminish the look of my pores, but it did not do a thing to keep my makeup in place or keep the oil at bay. But, I had heard a lot of great things about Benefit’s Porefessional Matte Rescue primer, so I decided to see if it was any better than the first. I’ll admit, I didn’t really have that high of hopes for this, but I was pleasantly surprised! It hid my pores just like the original, but unlike the first it actually kept my skin matte! While I was at Sephora, I had spoke to one of the associates about my oily-skin issue and she introduced me to the Boscia White Charcoal Mattifying Makeup Setting Spray. She explained to me that the charcoal helps keep moisture locked into the skin without making your skin look shiny, which is exactly what I need 🙂

Although you can see that I am VERY into mattifying products, that doesn’t mean I don’t love a nice, glowy highlight. Even if you have the best foundation in the world, if you skip adding a highlight to your cheekbones, your face can end up looking one dimensional, which isn’t exactly flattering. So as soon as I saw Urban Decay’s Afterglow highlight in ‘Sin’ I knew I had just found my go-to summer pick! It lasts all day and compliments tanned skin perfectly!

Do you have any go-to summer beauty products you can’t live without?

signature

Leave a Reply

