Irish Adventure Part 1

title.jpg

Happy Wednesday! So far this week I have been lucky enough to spend my time in Ireland! This is day three of our trip, and I am still in awe of how beautiful this country is. And of course, when you’re on a trip of a lifetime you have to take a ton of pictures. I know my mom is back home dying for me to upload more onto Facebook, so I thought it would be best that I compile some more into their own blog post! Hope you enjoy! 🙂

Day 1

We arrived on Monday, April 11 and travelled to Kilkenny, where we would spend our first day and night. I knew absolutely nothing about Kilkenny before visiting, and it impressed me instantly. The first thing you’re greeted with when you come into town is Kilkenny Castle, which was seriously breathtaking.

We wandered around town for a bit and explored the streets of Kilkenny. As it got later we decided to start searching for a place to eat. We wanted to eat in an authentic Irish pub, so we walked into the first one we saw. Unfortunately, they had stopped serving food for the day (it was only 5 pm, so I thought that was a bit strange), so we tried another. Well, the next two pubs also had stopped serving food, so we ended up at Lanigan’s Bar and I am so glad we did! The atmosphere was all we could have hoped for, and it really fit the Irish idea in my head. Not only was the atmosphere great, but so was the food. I highly recommend checking out Lanigan’s if you ever come to Kilkenny! After dinner, we sat around and had a few more drinks and even got to see some authentic Irish dancing – this will really make you feel like you’ve made it to Ireland!

DSC_0020DSC_0002DSC_0023DSC_0030DSC_0033DSC_0041DSC_0035

Day 2

We had arrived 30 minutes early to our tour of the Kilkenny Castle, so we walked across the street to grab some coffee at the Foodhall in Kilkenny Design Centre. After finishing our delicious cappuccinos we made our way to the castle. The tour only took about half an hour or so and was well worth the 5 euros! I was continuously amazed throughout the entire tour of how beautiful each and every room was.

DSC_0007

DSC_0036DSC_0019DSC_0015DSC_0027

After the tour we made our way to Cork, our first stop of the day. Once in Cork we finally found parking and started to explore the city. We arrived around noon, so we decided to grab lunch at The Linen Weaver. Neither of us had ever seen reviews on it, but it was a really good, reasonably priced lunch stop.

DSC_0056

DSC_0061DSC_0069

After lunch we browsed through a few shops and purchased some souvenirs, then we got back into the car and made our way to our first Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore. The drive there was crazy to say the least — I’m pretty sure that the Irish build their roads about half the width of the ones in America then expect for them to be used as a two-lane road. But, after the crazy drive we made it to Baltimore, a tiny little boating town on the southern most tip of Ireland. The views were absolutely amazing, and well worth the scary roads and near misses! We had our dinner at Casey’s of Baltimore Hotel, as recommended by our B&B host, and the food was pretty good. The pub had an authentic Irish feel, which was nice.

DSC_0113 2DSC_0109DSC_0116 2DSC_0088DSC_0091DSC_0095DSC_0120DSC_0113DSC_0134

Day 3

After having our authentic Irish breakfast at our B&B (which was delicious) – we made our way to the Blarney Castle, which is home to the very famous Blarney Stone. To be totally honest, I had absolutely no clue what the Blarney Stone was until everyone kept bringing it up as soon as my trip to Ireland was planned. Apparently, if you kiss the stone then you will be granted the gift of eloquence. Unfortunately for me, I am terrified of heights and I couldn’t bring myself to the top of the stairs that lead you to the stone (at the top of the castle), so no eloquence for me! But, nonetheless the castle was absolutely stunning.

DSC_0095 copyDSC_0091 copy

Also on the grounds was Blarney House, which I have decided is now my new home and I will be moving in shortly 😉  Seriously though, this place was unbelievable! Sadly, it isn’t open until summer to tour, but I was happy enough looking at it from the outside. After checking out the house we stopped in for lunch at the cafe on the property, which surprisingly was very reasonably priced. I’ve never really been a huge fan of beer, so when I got to Ireland I decided to try a Bulmers Irish Cider and let me just say, I don’t care if you do or do not like beer, this stuff is absolutely amazing. Don’t question or doubt me, just try them if you ever get the opportunity to!

DSC_0013DSC_0028DSC_0046DSC_0074

I can’t wait to see what else Ireland has to offer! We’re going to a few new towns over the next three days and there will definitely be a part 2 to this post! If you aren’t patient and can’t wait to see where we’re going next, or just want to follow me around on my trip follow me on snapchat! I post there a lot and you’ll be the first to see what I’m up to if you follow me — @wpshupe 🙂

signature

Leave a Reply

