Life After Whole30

whole30title

Today, March 31 is my first day of life after Whole30. In the last 30 days I did not consume sugar, grains, dairy, legumes or alcohol. Yes, I promise you it was a very long 30 days.

For the past few months before I started my Whole30, I did not follow a strict, healthy diet whatsoever. I was constantly taking the easy way out and eating things that were quick to fix or just running through the fast food drive-thru (don’t worry, I am definitely ashamed of myself too). I quickly came to realize that my body was not reacting well to my poor diet and I was constantly feeling tired, sluggish and honestly pretty crummy. I knew it was time for a change and I thought Whole30 would do exactly that for me.

If you want a lot of detailed information about Whole30 you can go to their website, but I can give you a brief summary. After cutting out the foods I listed above, this program is designed to give you a nutritional reset in 30 days. After the 30 days are over you can start reintroducing those foods back into your life and you start to see what reacts best with your body.

To be honest, I have always had a lot of willpower and when I set a goal (especially with my diet or exercise) I give it 110% and make sure that I can accomplish that goal one way or another. So, I knew that I would be able to finish Whole30 no matter what because that’s just the type of person that I am. With willpower aside, this really was the hardest “diet” I have ever done. I have always had too close of a relationship with food and am pretty much the definition of a foodie, but Whole30 really has changed my total outlook on this.

In the course of those 30 days I did not once feel bloated, sluggish, or regretful after eating a meal. I gained more energy than I knew that I could have naturally (I only drank about 4 or 5 cups of coffee during the 30 days), and it honestly felt amazing. I have become a lot more appreciative of good, wholesome food and do not mind taking the time and preparing myself a clean, healthy meal. To say the least, I want to continue eating as healthy and Whole30-like as I can.

I decided to start reintroducing whole grains back into my diet and so far they haven’t had any negative impacts. Dairy, on the other hand, is a different story. I knew that I wanted to continue cutting out dairy and sugar as much as possible, because I knew that they made a really profound difference over the last 30 days. But, since it was my first day after Whole30 I thought that I would reward myself with a chicken quesadilla at lunch and I instantly regret it. As delicious as it was, my stomach has been in knots ever since. The small amount of delicious cheese was not worth the going-on 5 hour stomach ache that I have had.

Like whole grains, legumes aren’t a huge concern for me because I didn’t really eat a lot of them prior to my Whole30. Alcohol (the easiest for me to “give up”) is also something that I only have occasionally, and it’s usually only a glass or two of wine.

So, if you are anything like I was previously – lacking energy, having too good of a relationship with food, etc. – I really do highly recommend looking into Whole30. It definitely was not easy by any means, but it was worth every second and every craving that I had! It was a great reset and exactly the wake up call that I needed to get myself back on track.

If you have completed Whole30, I’d love to hear about your experiences or if you are interested, I would love to answer any questions you have!

signature

Leave a Reply

