Setting Goals for 2016

DSC_0031

I have to admit that I have never been one to make New Years Resolutions every year or anything like that. But, this year I kind of wanted to start 2016 out on a positive and fresh note, so I thought that I would do that by setting some goals for myself that I would like to continue throughout the rest of this year. One reason that I think I have never made any new years resolutions previously is because I didn’t want to hold myself accountable or set myself up for failure, so to avoid doing that I have decided to give myself three goals that I am very capable of obtaining. And to keep myself accountable, I think sharing this blog post and having my goals in “writing” will hopefully give me a little nudge in the right direction whenever I start drifting off course.

1. Live a healthy, active lifestyle

Yes, I know that a fitness goal is nowhere near original, but I do think it is the most important. I have always had a love/hate relationship with living a healthier lifestyle. I have proven to myself many times that whenever I am in the right headspace, I am very goal-driven and I can spend 6 days a week at the gym and eating “clean” without a problem in the world. But, that momentum doesn’t always stick around. I have a problem with burning myself out and after a few months in the gym, I fall off the wagon and spiral back into an unhealthy life. This year, I want to not just give myself a “2016” goal, but I want to really transform my life and change the way I live day-to-day; this includes both leading a more active life and also eating more nutritious, healthy foods. I’m not trying to deprive myself of “fun” foods, so there is not a specific diet that I plan on following, but I want to be more conscious of what I am putting into my body and want to try and make wiser choices when I am not eating at home. And as far as activity, I’d love to do some sort of physical activity at least 3-4 days a week, whether it be running, weight lifting, yoga, or an at-home workout DVD.

2. Travel more often

Of course I’d love to travel the world in 2016, and go to every continent and country out there, but that is not what this goal is about. Traveling really is a passion of mine and I enjoy learning about different places and people, and this year I’d like to do that, but not just on a larger scale. I want to take more local trips, like ones that could be done in a weekend and only a few hours from home. I want to explore more places, even if it is just a spontaneous one-night stay at a bed and breakfast just a few hours away – you never know what you can learn and see just outside of your backyard. I have always looked at traveling as something you do when you go to far away countries, big cities, and on extravagant trips, but that doesn’t have to be the case. Traveling and learning can be done in so many forms – hiking trips, mission trips, exploring historical landmarks, etc. I really want to start diversifying myself and the kind of traveling I do this year.

3. Read more books

When I graduated from Virginia Tech in May I said that I couldn’t wait to be able to read more books for pleasure because I would finally have down time. Well, I have been graduated from college for about seven months now and I embarrassingly can say I have only read two books in that time. Instead of spending my spare time curled up with a book I’ve became re-addicted to Netflix and YouTube. I’m not saying that either of those things are bad, because I’ll be the first to admit that I love them both a lot, but neither of them can replace the feeling you get when you’re lost in a good book. I know that reading more books is a very, very simple goal, but I think it’s a good one. So, to be a fair to myself (because I know my love for Netflix and YouTube are not going anywhere), I’m going to set my goal of reading 2 books a month.

Like I stated earlier, none of these goals are overly-complicated, but I really hope to accomplish all of these, and am hopeful that this blog post will keep me in-check throughout the year. Happy New Years, everyone!

So, what New Years goals and “resolutions” did you set for yourself? Also, any book recommendations would be greatly appreciated! 

 

2 thoughts on “Setting Goals for 2016

Leave a Reply

