My Chemically-Treated Hair Care Favorites

DSC_8832

Naturally, my hair is a medium-toned brown and it stayed that way about 99% of my life. But, in May I decided to be a risk-taker and add some blonde. This was a huge change at first, but I grew to really love it and now, the majority of my hair is blonde(never thought I’d say that)!  As much as I love my blonde hair, there is no denying that it requires much higher maintenance compared to my natural brown. With a few trials and errors, I believe that I have found a handful of holy-grail products that have kept my hair soft and silky despite all of the bleach it has went through, as well as maintaining my color at the same time. So, I thought I would share with you the items that have been a blessing to my not-so-naturally-blonde hair!

DSC_8852

I know this is a cult favorite, and you’ve probably read a million reviews on this product before, but I couldn’t leave it out. I have been using Moroccan Oil Light(formulated for people with light-colored or fine hair) for about 5 years and it is still one of my go-to hair essentials. Just a tiny amount of this oil and it leaves your hair looking and feeing silky and smooth. Although this is a higher end product with a slightly higher price tag, I think it is absolutely worth every penny. Plus, with only having to use such a small amount of product, this bottle will last you a very long time! And if you were wondering,

DSC_8851

On the opposite end of the price range, Dessange Brass Color Correcting Creme can be purchased at Target for only $12! I cannot even begin to explain how amazing this product is at instantly correcting the brassy color in my hair! Whenever I can tell my hair is getting brassy I simply wash my hair as normal, then put this throughout my hair and leave it for about 5-10 minutes. After I rinse, my hair shows no sign of brassy-ness and is left feeling unbelievably soft! Its like a deep conditioner and toner all in one!

DSC_8849

Now I know that dry shampoo is not a new thing, and everyone and their mother uses it, but I constantly hear people complaining about not finding a “good” dry shampoo! Well, to all of those people, look no further because Batiste is the best dry shampoo I have ever used! The one I am currently using is a normal formula, but Batiste also has an amazing line specifically for your specific hair color! I always used the one for brunettes when I had brown hair and it was great!

DSC_8848

Even when my hair is at its softest, I have always struggled with my hair looking shiny. But, I have now found the answer to that problem! I simply spray the It’s A 10 Miracle Shine Spray in my damp hair after every shower and after drying my hair it is left very silky and shiny!

DSC_8846

One very important step in keeping your hair from extra breakage and damage is choosing the best hair brush. The Wet Brush easily glides through tangles and eliminates an enormous amount of hair loss and breakage – less breakage means less split ends, which leads to smoother hair. You see my point…

DSC_8840

A lot of the highly raved about deep conditioners can be very expensive, and if you are like me, you typically use A LOT of conditioner, which means you run out of it quickly. And having an expensive conditioner makes it a pain when it comes to repurchasing a product frequently. You don’t have to worry about that with Aussie’s 3 Minute Miracle – which can be purchased for only about $3 at practically any store! I have used this stuff for years and I always go back to it, even after using high end hair masks. You can’t beat the price, or quality!

DSC_8836

Since my hair is naturally brown like I said earlier, it tends to go brassy pretty easily, which makes a purple shampoo and conditioner a must-have. My hair stylist recommended the V76 by Vaughn brightening shampoo and conditioner to me at my last appointment and I have not been disappointed! I use this about every-other wash and this stuff keeps the brassy-tones at bay! And like many of the other products I mentioned, you only need a small amount with each use, which makes these bottles last a lot longer than you’d assume by the small size.

What is your #1, go-to, holy-grail hair product?

2 thoughts on “My Chemically-Treated Hair Care Favorites

Leave a Reply

